metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moving Fences

We live in a world where everything is possible. A world of possibilities! Hey, it's backed by science! A world of infinite possibilities and no absolutes. So why do we focus only on what is probable and what we like to think as "finite"? It's "safer", I suppose. It gives us a little security in this big, scary world.

The brain - at least my brain - likes boundaries. It patrols my mythical boundaries like a doberman, guarding the perimeter. Running the fenceline to keep out intruders. Besides the fence keeps me inside and safe.

But what is beyond my self-imposed boundaries? More of the same? Something new? I won't know until I hop the fence, or remove it altogether.

To have no boundaries, perhaps that is what insanity is. I can't just hang myself out there. I need boundaries to stretch against. But I could move my fence out a little bit, I suppose.

7:44 a.m. - 2009-11-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites