metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In the Bleak Midwinter

I woke today with a song looping in my brain. I assume that happens to others, as well. It sometimes becomes the soundtrack for my day.

Today it is In the Bleak Midwinter. I bet not a lot of people wake to THAT one. LOL.

I love the bleakness of midwinter. I love the quiet and stark beauty of winter. It hugs me, but not in an attempt to comfort. Rather, it is a seductive embrace. I have you. You are here. You are mine.

It amuses me when weather forecasters use human terms to describe the weather. "Nature's wrath", "Angry winds", "Cruel Frost". They have it wrong. Winter is without passion, the absence of passion which reveals the structure of things -- their underlying nature as surely as winter shows the "bones" of the trees.

That appeals to me ... for some reason. The exposure of the true nature of things with out the superficial dressing.

I love spring, summer and fall, but they are different. Winter, I believe, is my true nature.

9:04 a.m. - 2008-12-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites