metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Funeral

Went to a funeral today. She was a woman, 98 years old, married to the same man for 78 years. Member of the garden club, played bridge every week with the ladies of the local bridge club. Wife, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother. Fun and funny, even to the end. Her husband, 101 years old, survives her. I wonder for how long.

I'm just like that. Maybe growing up in LA ... I just didn't know anyone like that. It's hard for me to believe people live lives like that. Like the noodle salad tirade by Jack Nicholson in As Good As It Gets.

I liked her. I like her daughter, and cried as I watched her walk behind her mothers coffin as it was wheeled down the aisle of the church. She is in her 70's... had her mother in her life for over 70 years. Wow. I had my mother for 36 years...

It's easy to resent people who have their mother for so long, but I sometimes wonder whether it is always such a good thing. It extends the tendency to act like a child, always having someone to run to when things get tough. Perhaps. I never really ran to my mother, the times I did I was usually disappointed.

I wonder, too, about this woman who lived 98 years. What secret dreams died with her this week? What desires, unfulfilled or fulfilled, were buried with her today?

It made me pensive. So I thought I might write a rambling, pensive entry. Forgive it.

8:14 p.m. - 2008-12-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites