metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We are all of us broken

We are all of us broken. We live our lives with broken hearts, broken minds, broken dreams. I was sitting with a friend a while ago and we were discussing different people we know. I spoke of a woman who works in the same building as I do. Kent characterized her as �broken� and I parroted the description. As I spoke, I listened to myself as if I were listening to someone else. I spoke with almost a smug attitude � she was broken, I was not. In retrospect it was a lot of bull shit. Had I thought a little more deeply before I opened my big, fat mouth I would have realized that in order to see her brokenness, I had to have been broken myself. And, indeed, I have been and still am.

We are all of us broken. And, maybe, we are not meant to be �fixed�. Perhaps we are meant to live in our broken state, to learn to enjoy life in spite of our brokenness. Whether it is heart or mind or body that is broken; hell, even if it is all of us that is broken, we climb out of the detritus that is our little life and continue on.

Sometimes we heal. Through healing there is strength. Sometimes we heal, well, �funny�. Sometimes the bone doesn�t get set quick enough and heals convoluted and crooked. Sometimes our hearts and minds do the same.

Does this mean we need to be fixed? Can we not be loved or beloved in our current state; do we have to pursue perfection in order to be eligible for love? In fact, the reverse is true. We can not be perfect to receive love � or to give it. Love exists in the imperfections. Love perfects by its essence. Love fixes and heals, that is what love �does�. We MUST be broken and imperfect for love to be in our lives.

All we need is love. I have heard that somewhere before. You don�t have to be perfect to be wonderful. I have heard that one before, too. Both are true. I will add one: You don�t have to be perfect or unbroken to love or be loved.

11:28 a.m. - 2006-09-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites