metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'll cross that bridge

I'm writing this because I need to get it written. I don't want to forget this one, like I have forgotten so many...too many to remember - ha!

My niece is immobilized in her life. I see it. Her brother was too, the one that died last month. When dreaming dreams or thinking thoughts, she feels as though she must have all her bases covered before beginning. Like she needs to have every eventuality that even might occur prepared for. And so, she does nothing. Because, obviously, who can know everything that will or might happen? I do the same thing, to a smaller degree. When I was younger, I did the same thing to a larger degree. As I grow older, I learn that part of the beauty of life is not knowing all the different bridges you will have to cross as you live. "We'll cross that bridge when we come to it" is a good saying. It is a way of reminding us that we can never prepare for all that life has to hold for us, but that there is no reason we won't be able to deal with whatever comes up.

My goal? Just keep living, knowing I'll cross those bridges when I come to them, and try not to worry about the bridges wherever and whatever they may be, and enjoy the scenery along the way. I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.

4:22 p.m. - 2006-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites