metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Unraveling

I heard his voice and my heart leaped from my chest and jetted into the flame-blue sky at blistering speed. Higher and higher it climbed, 2 miles then 8 miles, then it hit a brick wall embedded with razor blades. It is now sliding down that wall, being torn to shreds and bits. When it finally reaches the ground, there will be little left, really, but it will of course never beat again.

My love left me a gift yesterday. Well, two actually. The first I got yesterday, the second I got this morning.

Yesterday's gift was like a cooling summer rain, welcome and sweet. It washed over me and delighted me with each word, beautiful and eloquent. Then, like rain in summer, it moved too quickly and was gone. Little rivulets all that remained, evaporating much too quickly. I would thank him for that gift, if I could.

I heard his breath this morning. How pitiful is that? Just reading that sentence is pitiful... and yet I played the message over and over... it's him! His breath! Oh, I have certainly unraveled.

8:01 a.m. - 2006-02-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites