metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We are Family

My nephew called last night. The one that is living in his car in Oregon. He called to thank me for the xmas card and the check I sent. He called to say his wife has been gone for a couple of days, staying with a "friend". He went on to share that she has been "doing" meth. K said he hoped that she did not use the money we sent them to buy meth. I told him I was sure that didn't happen. In my mind I said, if she had a chance to use that money to buy meth, she did.

So now, nephew is trying to take the "high road". He says he will stand by her and see her through this thing. I applauded his attitude, but also told him to have a "plan B". To set a "trigger" and if it gets to that point, be prepared to bail out of the burning plane before it hits the ground... His life has become such a series of tragedies, precipitated by his choices... I wished him well, and asked him to keep in touch. I said I would try to help him out of the relationship if it gets to the point he has to bail...

My niece called about 20 minutes later. She was furious with her brother, said he was a liar and an alcoholic and she was determined not to be an "enabler". So, he called her for comfort and got a flame thrower sandwich instead... sigh.

Niece called to thank me for card and check I sent for xmas. I made check out to superior court to help her pay off a fine she had for driving without a license and failure to appear, I think... She is still driving and says if caught she will go to jail for 6 months... K told her we would try to send her some money each month to help pay fine down quicker, and so we will. I hope it helps her begin to dream and hope again.

Her daughter is not doing her homework and getting in trouble at school. She is rather distraught. I told her my son did same thing. Children are little sneaks, you have to watch them every minute. Once they find out they can scam you, they will. And the older they get, the better they get at it. My advice? Keep your wits about you and don't be their "bitch". Oh, also, children respond well to bribery.

Me? Me, I am doing fine. I have been writing again, a little. It does not seem as satisfying as it once was a couple of months ago, but my muse is clawing it's way back to me from the wreckage, fingernails cracked and bleeding. I must have faith he will return to me, whole and comforting.

I am also trying to be more effective at work. The last few months I have really dogged it here. I have forms to be filled out that have been on my desk for at least 2 months. That must be long enough for me to feel a modicum of guilt about it. So, onward and upward and here's to being more impeccable at work. At least that's the plan until I am distracted by something shiny....

8:47 a.m. - 2006-01-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites