metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Counter-measures

I knew a woman once named Betty Thayer. She was a special person and shared with me that she just happened to look at the clock every day at 11:11 and how about that? Pretty weird, huh? But now, if I look at a clock and it is 11:11, I think of Betty. I also think of her when I use a feather duster...

We worked together at an aircraft repair shop that was located on the airport (duh). There was no air conditioning in this place, so we had to open the windows to let the breeze flow through, and by so doing let the dust and what I called "jet shit" flow through as well. I had a persnickety (I like this word) copier at the time and it hated dust. So I bought a robins egg blue feather duster and dusted my desk and copier and any other flat surface each morning and evening. On occasion, I would "lose" a feather here and there, but thought nothing of it because I would pick them up later.

We had a Jamaican cleaning man who came in at night to clean the bathrooms and one morning as I was dusting he happened to be in the building. He looked at me with eyes wide and then a look of complete relief came over his face. He said to me, "Oh, God. This is how these blue feathers came to be here. I thought someone was using the mojo on me. I was thinking I would have to start counter-measures!" We both laughed about it and he left, obviously much lighter hearted knowing he wasn't under the mojo thing.

When I related the incident to Betty, she laughed, too, and then she said, "Well, did you find out what the counter-measures were? I mean just in case we ever need them, it would be good to know!"

I didn't even ask what the counter-measures were. I should have! Betty was so smart and so right. Always find out the countermeasures! Just in case!

I should have asked...

4:10 p.m. - 2005-03-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites