metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm off-season

I�m a funny girl, I guess.

My sister in law lives in Palm Springs and is always saying, �Come during �the season� and we�ll have a great time.� But, I would rather be there out of season; the �off� season. When the desert reclaims its identity and its strength doubles and redoubles as the heat increases.

The cool of the desert morning, just before the sun rises, the Joshua trees and the ocotillo are still black against the purple blue sky; the rocks still warm from yesterday�s heat; then the thin yellow line at the horizon, hinting of more heat to come; the absolute stillness that comes at mid day when it is too hot for anything to move and make noise. The wind kicking up as the sun sets, as though the earth is fanning itself, relieved that the heat is over for the day�.

I love the desert in the off season, when no tourists are milling around and going to theatre and blah, blah, blah. I like the desert in the off season, when nothing is going on except the desert. It draws me, it saps my energy, it restores me, it overwhelms me. I love it.

Then, too, I love the beach in the winter. When all the people are gone and it is just me and the sea and the wind and I have to bundle up because the sand feels like snow on my feet., and yet I must walk barefooted in it. The gulls call to me in the winter at the beach. The place is mine, except for another, occasional, solitary friend of the winter beach. The parking lots are full of sand instead of cars. The breeze is stiff and cold. Still, it calls me. It saps my energy, it restores me, it overwhelms me. I love it.

I just guess I am an off season type of girl.

3:47 p.m. - 2005-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites