metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bleah

I was going along fine, and then I lost my will to update. I will more than likely keep it up until I forget most of the salient points of my trip to California. Perhaps I was trying to be too linear, too - specific and accurate. Perhaps I will be more inclined to write if I just stick to my old vague, superficial cliches I am so fond of. Perhaps that.

So, after I updated last, I remembered a bunch more things that happened on Friday, the day of the rehearsal dinner. I wonder if they are even important at this point. OK. I'm omitting them.

We drove to the rehearsal dinner with ex and his family following in their car. Arrived at restaurant and the photo collage that I hastily made up in the room at PCP began falling apart. Ex's wife and I were feverishly trying to repair it with tape borrowed from the restaurant. They graciously lent me an easel and I propped it up. I think people enjoyed it, although no one said anything specific about it.

We waited and waited and only two people showed up. Uh, oh. I thought. Well more like, holy shit, crap. But we found out some folks went down to Tijuana for the day and were stuck in the line trying to get back into the US. Heh. That line was two hours long back in 1986, I can't even imagine what it is like, now.

Everyone eventually showed up and were served. Food was fine and we settled up the tab. They didn't serve the appetizers we ordered, so we got a refund for that.

I think everyone had a good time. K went back to the room in son's friends limo, so I drove back by myself, at night with my contacts in. My old contacts that I wore because I could not find my new ones. The old contacts that are pretty blurry, especially at night and they were drying out so I had to blink every second or two to moisten my eyes. So I'm driving back to La Jolla when I happen to see a big sign that says, "El Centro". Whoa. I lived in Calif long enough to know that going to La Jolla I should not have seen a sign for El Centro. I missed my fucking exit because I was blinking! I rerouted myself and circled around going toward LA. I finally got back to PCP.

Visited with ex and his family in their room. K shows up and says a group of sons friends are with him at microbrewery and want us to come down. Ex and his fam decline, but K and I go down for a couple of beers. I actually had 4 glasses of water because I was dehydrated for some reason. They were pretty loud and rowdy and were going off to a tittie bar and I excused myself. K decided to come with me.

Son got a tatoo. Not that night. I don't know when he got it. He just changed shirts in our room and I saw it on his upper arm. It is huge. I am just so puzzled why someone would want to do that. It says something in binary, but it is so huge. I told him he should have winzipped it. heh. Tattoo's are so over. Everybody has one, it is not like you are an outlaw or anything, anymore. They have become like the earring was back in the 70's. I feel like when everyone is doing something, it just takes away from your individuality and makes you look like a sheep. On second thought, I think it depends on WHY you do it. Like, if you do it because you think it is a decoration and you like it, then I guess why not. But if you are doing it to be cutting edge, well, that train left the station a couple of decades ago...

bleah.

3:26 p.m. - 2004-06-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites