metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rehearsal Dinner Flurry

This is not really the entry I want to write. But in order to write the entry I want to write, I have to write this one. pshuh.

The day of the rehearsal dinner, May 14, went by in a flurry of activity. I don't remember much of it. K and I went for a morning power walk and while we were out, we decided to walk over to where the wedding was going to be held so we could check it out. So we walked and walked and walked and walked. It was better though because I wore my walking shoes so I could kind of keep up the pace and sprint across the streets so as not to come so close to death, as I did in my thongs the day before. We saw the place and it was nice. We then strode back toward the Paint Chip Palace (as I began calling our motel) and passed an IHOP and decided to have breakfast. We walked by the water and watched people swimming and snorkeling then it was time to go to wedding rehearsal.

Drove over to wedding site and walked in on time. We were urged to be there on time because we only had an hour to get it all done. So we did. Met preacher who was nice and maid of honor, best man, etc. It looked like it would be a nice ceremony.

The wedding coordinator and the maid of honor had the same name - Judy. It was funny to see the look on maid of honor's face, and her husbands, as the preacher kept saying "Judy will take care of this. Judy will do that. Judy knows what to do at that point. That's Judy's job." Maid of honor finally said, "I hope there is someone else here named Judy." Heeeee!!

After that it was time to get my nails done. K went to the beach and went - what? - body surfin'. The Nail Orientals were feverishly knitting, each with their own little ball of yarn of many colors, when I walked in. My appointment was with Mae and she was nice and began shaping my nails. She was almost finished when her 1 o'clock appointment arrived early. A loud, brash, bulldozer of a rich bitch who immediately demanded Mae's attention. Mae looked at me apologetically and said, Mimi will finish you, OK? Sure, I said. What the fuck. Mimi began by shaping the remaining nails in a completely different shape than Mae. Mimi spoke very little eeenlish. I pulled my hand from her kung-fu grip and tried to show her, "Here, see? More round no pointy. See?" She kind of got it. Sigh. Nails ended up ok and I got out of there, with the voice of loud, brash, bulldozer rich bitch was yakking on her cell phone and snapping at the Oriental Nail Girls echoing behind me. Gah. sigh.

Got back to motel and chatted with ex and his wife, who had just arrived at Paint Chip Palace and were in process of enjoying Dog Trick of Frisbee on Roof. We agreed to leave about 3 and they would follow us. K breezed in fresh from the beach and it was time to go get the cleaning we dropped off yesterday and get dressed and head for the rehearsal dinner

11:31 a.m. - 2004-05-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites