metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fabric

I like fabric. Material. Yardage. Fabric. I like it. There is no better place for me to spend a few hours than browsing through stacks of satin, bolts of brocade and rolls of remnants. I dream there. I dream of beautiful clothes I will make, or the elegant jackets I will wear. I touch them and feel their crispness, or softness or silkiness. Are they heavy? Or gossamer-light? Do I need interfacing? Heh I buy that too. And so, now, with the winnowing of crap process that continues, I must confront my yardage dreams. I have vowed to �get rid of� one entire box of fabric. Oh, the pain � the agony of it all.

Which to discard? Will it be the dream red wool plaid bias skirt that I bought too little fabric for and anyway after reading the pattern I bought, began scratching my head about the third step thinking, �What the hell does that mean?� Will it be the navy blue cotton with the 2� white flowers for the happi coat I never made because I could not find an appropriate pattern that was exactly what I was looking for, so I decided to replicate an old jacket that I loved and took it apart to cut the pattern out, only to find that it was too small? Will it be the small green ivy on a cream background that I made curtains out of for my first home in Georgia?

Yes to all, except maybe the red wool plaid. Because I can make a little skirt for my great niece and �. I�m just keeping it, that�s all. The potential still lives within it.

I have filled a box with material I can live without. I have fondled it one last time. I have said my goodbyes and have arranged for a good home. A lady at church is a quilter and she has said she would take it and her quilting club could certainly use some of it. So. It eases the pain, a bit, knowing it is going to someone who will give it a purpose � a good home.

The funny thing is, now that I have rid myself of the detritus, I find myself in the fabric section of WalMart, looking at the $1 a yard fabric and feeling it�s goodness, it�s potential. I am beginning to dream again of other projects. �If I buy enough of this, surely someday I will find a perfect purpose for it.� Heh

I guess I should really just find another box and begin the entire process of accumulation, again. And I could really use a new sewing machine�

8:24 a.m. - 2004-02-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites