metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Old and fat - bait and switch

Received a thank you card from the f-ing inlaws. Damn them. After I have been snarking about them for weeks now they come along and say, "Thank you. Had a wonderful time." Now what am I going to do? I had all these other crappy things to say about my non-vacation and they go and do something nice. Fuck them. How dare they make me feel guilty! The nerve. Those people, why I . . .

Griping just doesn't satisfy like it did before they said thank you.

I think the credit card companies are doing an old bait and switch scam. This one company (where I had a -0- balance and never used the card) offered me a kick ass balance transfer rate so I transferred $7,000 to them in April. Well, yesterday I get a lovely note from them stating that they are going to raise my rate to 18.99 plus prime! Get out! No way! I called and got some vague reason why - nothing too specific that I could confront, and really the person I was speaking to was just a front line trencher. To hell with it. My options are to close the account and keep the terms and conditions as they exist now, or keep the account open and pay something ridiculous - like 23.99% - and that's it. Those are my choices. Hmmmm. OK. Close. My. Account. As an aside, I was never late with my payments to this company never went over balance and rarely used this card. I had an account in good standing until I transferred the $7,000. Seems suspicious to me, but what can I do? Shit. Shit. Shit.

I had such a good relationship with my nephew P. We shared snarky laughs together and had an intimacy I cherished. We no longer have this intimacy because I told him I was not fond of his wife. Actually, I just said that if I had to live with her I would have slapped the living shit out of her long ago. I just expected a haha, yeah I know what you mean out of him. Instead he says, "What do you mean? I thought you liked C." I said, "Well, she is kind of hard to live with." "I don't think so at all. What exactly don't you like about her?" At this point I wish I had shut up, but I didn't. I dutifully answered the question with something like "She is vacuous, self-centered, dull and spiteful." He now rarely writes or acknowledges emails. He says he has forgiven me, but by his actions I know he has not. What began as an offhand remark turned into a serious, pointed conversation. I regret it, but also I am angry with him and sorry that he can not accept that I love him and I accept C for all she is and isn't, I just would not choose to live with her. He will now never visit me because he is afraid that I will slap his wife. He said that. I am sorry to see that he has become (or maybe always was) petty and spiteful and unforgiving. I groveled and apologized and mea culpa'd myself until I couldn't mea culpa anymore. I guess if our relationship was a fragile as this, it wasn't much of one at all.... Still,I feel a loss, but less of one now that I have written about it. This happened two years ago. Since that time he never calls or writes on my birthday, which he always did before. He says we are OK, but I know in my heart we are not. Goodbye, P. I hardly knew ye.

His brother called me this weekend. He is unemployed in Oregon. I think he said Oregon has the highest unemployment rate in the nation right now. He was depressed. I tried to cheer him and suggested he volunteer his time to help people as a way to stay busy and not be so depressed. He went on this diatribe how people should help themselves, etc.... The conversation didn't end very well. He mentioned that his brother, P (see above) never returns his calls. He misses the companionship of his brother. P's wife can not stand D, and so P has adopted her disdain and dislike for his brother. I am tempted to contact P and just tell him to call his brother, for fuck sake. I dunno.

I just dunno.

My garden looks like crap. We got so much rain this year all the tomatoes ripened at the same time, the plants are all leggy and, well, it just looks like crap. I have tomatoes all over the kitchen. I'm was going to make spaghetti sauce, but I'm out of onions. So, I'm at an impasse. Meanwhile I have to get out and weed said garden, but I turned my ankle on Saturday. My hair still looks like shit. I'm never going to get it cut again. Few things bring me down more than a bad hair cut, and this latest incarnation is just depressing. It is so short on top, there is not much I can do but wait for it to grow a little more... On top of everything else, my hair is bad.

The pictures from my non-vacation are back. I look fat and old. I guess because I am both. But, I look better in the mirror....I just don't translate to film very well. Maybe. Or maybe I am just old and fat. With bad hair. Not a pretty picture.

10:45 a.m. - 2003-07-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites