metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Secret Anniversaries of the Heart

"The holiest of all holidays are those kept by ourselves in silence and apart; the secret anniversaries of the heart." --Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Old Henry knew about the heart. There are days that are remembered by only me, and while maybe not "celebrated" in the generally accepted sense, I do "keep" them. Me, by myself, alone. My heart �keeps� them.

The day I met K.

The day I knew I had �met� my anmchara.

The moment I conceived my son.

There are others; usually various personal epiphanies. I am the only one who knows these days, these �secret anniversaries of the heart�, my heart. It feels right they should be only mine.

If I shared them, it would subtract significance from them. It would invariably change their nature. I hold them sacred and no one else would probably give them the respect and love they deserve. And, so, they are mine. And I keep them. They are things no one gives one shit about but me. That�s the beauty part.

2:19 a.m. - 2006-10-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites