metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Muffin-an analogy

Muffin was Smokie�s sister (or brother), I thought they were both female but when we took Smokie to be spayed, he got neutered instead, so its anybodys guess about Muffin.

We found them both on the side of the road after church one Sunday. Smokie was hiding in the bushes, but Muffin was out there by the side of the road waving us down. That was how she was (in my heart and mind, she was a spunky girl). She had a little funny face, she was black with a big white splash of white on her face and a little white chest and paws. She looked like a cartoon cat, and acted like one too. She and Smokie were inseparable and slept touching each other. Muffin was the most outgoing, sweet and gregarious cats I have ever known. Just to look on her was to smile. She slept sometimes on my shoulder. I loved her deeply.

One night, I pulled in the driveway after choir practice and the garage door was down. I stopped, wondering if I should open it or why it was closed. I then decided to open the door and pulled forward into the garage. I felt a bump, where there should not be a bump. My stomach turned, my heart broke, I felt sick as I got out of the car to see my precious Muffin writhing on the concrete. She was dying, or dead, and I held her little body in my hand as she stopped moving.

She knew my car. It was the car that rescued her and her brother. She knew I was in it and felt it was safe. She hid under the tire, because the dogs couldn�t get her there. I ran over her when she felt the safest.

I am still torn up about this. It is still hard to write about. I will always feel sick and crappy about this.

The analogy? Sometimes, when we feel the safest, we are at the most risk. Sometimes, the car that saves us, runs us over.

8:49 a.m. - 2006-03-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites