metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rear-ended

I was rear-ended last night... and not in the "good" way, although now that I made that comment, I don't really think there is a "good" way...

I was sitting at a stop light, and wham! jolted out of my wits, my head hit my headrest and my neck started hurting and I got an immediate headache. "Shit", I thought. "Shit, shit, shit, shit, shit." I picked up cell phone to phone K, who had been in his truck about 3 or 4 cars ahead of me. No answer... wtf? He must have the phone turned off, I thought. Great, just great.

The driver of the small truck that hit me was a young girl, looked around early 20's, quite shaken and on the cell phone to her mother as I approached her vehicle. She asked me if I was OK, and I said, "My neck hurts and I have a headache, but otherwise I'm OK. How about you?" She said she wasn't wearing seatbelt and had hit her steering wheel and her chest hurt. I went back to my car to try to call K again, but still no answer. We got out to survey the damage. My car bumper was cracked and the paint peeled off. It's plastic and I was surprised that it took the impact so well. Her truck was older, with a metal bumper that was smashed to shit.

Police showed up and we moved the vehicles out of traffic and then sat and waited for about 15 mins while they made out accident report.

Morther and siblings arrived and mother started poking around my bumper area so I got out of the car.

"My bumper is the extent of the damage. I already checked to see if my trunk would open and close and there it did. I think damage is confined just to the bumper", I said.

"Now, what damage was already there?", she asked.

K is so fucking fastidious about my car, there is no existing damage. My car was perfect, pristine and shiny.

"None. It was perfect."

"Oh."

Sigh. It could have been so much worse. I called insurance company to report accident when I got home. I was so shaken and my neck hurt alot so I just put ice on it the rest of the evening and crawled off to bed about 9:45...

I hope the girl is OK. Maybe this is a good thing and she will wear her seatbelt from now on.

Well, now on to the fun of dealing with insurance companies! Yippee.

8:42 p.m. - 2006-01-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites