metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Multi-tasking Does Not a Completed Task Make

Carpooling, as usual, to work today. My hair flying in the breeze. Literally flying � it is just a big bush of hair today. I had no time to style, so it is half blown dry and it is like � what? � a fluffy mop. Bouncy and flying free! Not really the look for a 50+ woman going to work, but � it is the look I have today. I just have to deal with it. I gotta DEAL. My own personal way to put it is, �brazen-it-out�.

So, driving along, my hair fluffing in the breeze, K begins his litany of things to do this weekend. �Why don�t you just write it down, that way you don�t have to talk about it over and over and run down the list over and over?� (the meaning was, that way I don�t have to listen to it over and over and over and over and over�ad infinitum is a phrase that is sooooo apropos at this juncture).

�You got a lot goin on, buddy!�, say I. He laughs self-deprecatingly and says, �yeah, I�m a multi-tasking motherfucker, aren�t I?� I laugh and say, �Yes! You are the King of the Multi-Task!� We go on about this for awhile.

I begin thinking (it�s what I do best! Heee), �multi-tasking� kind of implies completing the tasks, doesn�t it? Heh. Well, K is verrrrry good at thinking up tasks and planning multi-tasks, and even beginning multi-tasks. It is in the completion of these multi, multi-tasks that brings the dichotomy. On the one hand, we have many, many things going on, on the other hand we have many, many uncompleted shit all around the house. And so, multi-tasking does not a completed task make. I will allow myself to be quoted on that.

So, this weekend, among other things (of course) K is building a training ring for our horse, Ruby, who has just completed initial saddle training and he is all hot to keep up the training so she does not �lose� it. An admirable goal, and his determination and commitment is to be admired. I�ll help him lay it out, but I am not getting out there with the auger and setting posts. I repeat. No, I won�t repeat but I�m not a-gonna do it.

No, this weekend, I am going shopping. I saw some great deals out there on summer clearance stuff and I am going to BUY, BUY, BUY! It�s a great way to save money and still have new stuff for next summer. I also want to get another outfit for my great-niece�s birthday at the end of this month. Then, I will come home, clean the kitchen and mop it (I have been mopping only with hot, hot water and eucalyptus oil and the floor looks great and smells clean and fresh and great. It only takes a couple of drops, but works like a dream. I have a quarry tile floor, so it gives it a nice patina. And that is my helpful household hint for the day.) I love a good deal. I am a sucker for a good deal. It breaks my heart to pay full retail and I just have to love, love, love something to do it. Nothing warms my heart more than something discounted, then discounted again and then further discounted. It makes my heart sing! When I lived in LA I used to go to the garment district and really clean up on some great, I mean GREAT, deals. Those days are gone, but I can still find some good prices. So, I�m looking forward to a really satisfying day. We shall see.

10:19 a.m. - 2004-08-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites