metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lonely Donkey

There is a fairly large pasture I drive by on my way to and from work. I noticed it in passing, but never gave it much thought.

Then, about a year ago, the owner put several horses on it to graze. It was a lovely sight, the horses grazing and walking around in the lovely green grass. It was one of the small pleasant things that I moved to the country to experience.

Then about 9 months ago, the owner added a donkey, or rather it is probably a burro, but I still call it a donkey.

The donkey would cavort with the horses and graze with them as they "herded up". What a lovely pastoral scene.

Then one day, the horses were gone. Moved to another pasture somewhere I thought. Then I noticed the donkey.

The donkey was still there, all alone. Surely they would move him, too, I thought. But he was still there by himself (or herself) in the evening when I drove home.

He or she has been there - alone - for at least 6 months. Poor "lonely donkey" (as I have named him/her). "Hello, Lonely Donkey.", I say mentally as I pass each time. Then, "Poor Lonely Donkey."

Yesterday I felt like Lonely Donkey. I was so blue yesterday. I found out my brother will not be able to attend wedding because of his health. I kind of knew in my heart the trip would be too much for him, but I was hoping he could make it. But now, I know for sure he can not. It kind of just knocked me back and threw me down and I just stayed there for the rest of the day and evening. Me and Lonely Donkey.

The stress of the wedding and flying out to Calif and all the shit I have to do and get done before I leave and after I get there is just weighing on me and I am surprised I can't handle it. So, I think it all just came down on me yesterday after I found out brother could not go.

I'm better today and trying to keep positive and energy up.

There are things I want to write about. Linen and other shit that I can not remember again.

Wedding is Saturday. Even though I will be in a big herd, I bet I will still feel like Lonely Donkey.

10:47 a.m. - 2004-05-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites