metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Almost free

My holiday decorations are mute and quiet. A little holly here, a green pine scented candle there, my fiber optic assembles in 5 minutes instant tree here, and a few pine cones. Add a porcelain reindeer and you got it. I did not even unpack my ornaments this year. I feel muted. I feel quiet. My decor reflects my reflective mood this year.

By the end of January, if all goes as planned, I will be virtually free of consumer debt. I will have over $1,000 of "extra" money each month. I believe it is going to change my life dramatically, but I can not imagine in exactly what ways. I am looking forward to it, but as I told K I will feel that something is missing, that there is a bill somewhere I am forgetting - something I should be paying. My weekly bill paying has become a chore and a comfort. A comfort only in it's inevitability. It is as if I have been being slapped regularly and then the slapping will cease. I know I will miss it - but in a good way. I will go through phases - angry that I allowed it to happen in the first place, angry that I let it go on for so long. Angry that I felt trapped and used by the credit card companies. Then I will feel free and good and probably taller and thinner.

Credit card companies kick you when you are down. They check your credit report and if there is anything at all they don't like, they raise your interest rate regardless of your payment history with their account. If you are on the edge, this will push you over. Making a $60 payment and having $12 go to the principal the rest to the card company for the privilege of using their money is a sham. Nothing will be done to stop them. It is a matter of money and they have a whole lot of it. America has the best legislature money can buy. Things will change only for the worse as far as the consumer's interest goes. In a few days, I will have enough money to tell them all to kiss my ass. And it will feel good.

9:05 a.m. - 2003-12-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites