metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Donkey or Burro?

The dogs were raising a ruckus. No, not just raising it. They were blasting the ruckus into the stratosphere. What the hell?, I muttered as I got out of the shower. I peeked out the window, sans glasses (why do I even bother to look when I know I won't be able to see anything without my glasses? Do I think a miracle will occur and my sight will return, 20/20?). What I see without the glasses is a large animal standing by the garage door. It's too big to be a deer, I thought. Either that, or it is one big honking deer. Then reasonableness took over and I put on my glasses and got a flashlight and went outside to see what this thing was. Imagine my surprise (I like that phrase) - imagine my surprise when I saw a "donkey" in my front yard. That's a funny line, isn't it. "Imagine my surprise when I saw a donkey in my front yard." That is one thing I never thought I would ever ever say.

Anyway, I closed the front gate and took it some carrots, but it would not follow me. I went back in the house to put on some shoes, since it is about 30 degrees here in the morning now. K gets out of the shower and says, "What were the dogs barking at?" "A donkey.", I said. He looked at me like 'why are you fucking with my head at 6 am?' and said, "A donkey?" "Yes, a donkey. There is a donkey in the front yard."

I went back out trying to coax it into one of the fenced pastures - it would eat the carrots, but it would not follow me. K came out with a lead rope and put it around it's neck and it just walked right in.

So now we have to find out who may have lost a burro. (I have since found out that it is not a donkey, but a burro because it has a little brown stripe on it.) It is a sweet little thing.

So, that's pretty much my morning. That and I am so busy at work trying to catch up with stuff I have been putting off for over a month. Gah. I hope I don't get fired. There is really no excuse for this, but I just did not feel like doing it....

10:10 a.m. - 2003-12-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites