metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reality and dreams collide

As my dream hurtles straight into reality . . .

My responsibility for my sons wedding is very small. All we have to do is host the rehearsal dinner. No sweat. Piece of cake. Just a very slight, small wrinkle in the whole sweaty cake. My son is getting married in La Jolla, CA. I live near Atlanta, GA. So the whole logistics thing is out the window, or up my ass. Wherever it is, I can not find it and so I flounder.

Son is no help. He lives in Atlanta. Daughter in law to be also lives in Atlanta. Her parents live in Cali so that is why wedding there. It makes sense to them, and it�s their wedding so � bleh and sneh.

I have a vision of what I would like it to be. I was born and raise in SoCal and so I have an idea of what I want, and I don�t think I�m way out of line wanting it and I am sure if I still lived there, I could find it in the blink of a fairy�s eye and it would be perfect and lovely and � perfect.

I want a casual patio overlooking the ocean. I want traditional SoCal Mexican food. You would think that is not to much to ask. San Diego is alive and throbbing with great Mexican restaurants � none of which overlook the ocean. OK. I can deal with that. But, it is too soon for me to just roll over on it. Besides, I just know the perfect place exists. I want an old restaurant. One that�s been there and done it a million times. I want it intimate and classy. I may have to go inland a bit for what I want. I know that. But since wedding is in La Jolla, I would like to have rehearsal dinner close by because most people will be from out of town and unfamiliar with the streets, etc.

So. There is my dilemma. I think there will be about 50 people, but probably less.

That is my focus. I will enlist the services of my ex and his wife. Maybe they can make a scouting trip down and check things out. The in-laws to be are trying to be helpful, but they are from back east and I don�t think they really get what I�m looking for�.

Alas and alack. And Fuckity fuck fuck fuck.

4:56 p.m. - 2003-12-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites