metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Goodbyes

I have a "thing" about goodbyes. Not the thing about avoiding them. My thing is more like I appreciate them. I think goodbyes are good. They should not be avoided, they should be embraced.

Without a goodbye, an experience is always open ended, being dragged around through ones life like a long sack of cotton. If you do not know how long a cotton sack is, well, I hear it is very, extremely long. My mother picked cotton near Bakersfield during a time in her life. She told me that the cotton bolls were hard and prickly and stuck her fingers. She said they paid by the pound and when your bag was full you dragged it to the scale and they weighed it and you were paid by weight. She said she threw rocks in the bottom of the sack to make it weigh more. Excuse the digression. Long sacks through your life with rocks = not good.

I don't believe you can essentially ever move on in your life if you do not "say goodbye" to certain parts and times of your life. People become stuck in certain eras and I think it is because they have not said goodbye to those times. The woman with the 60's hair and 70's bellbottoms looking like Shaft as a cross dresser. Or the man who wears his polyester leisure suit like a badge of courage, day in and day out. These people have not yet said goodbye to those times. Those places and parts of their lives. They cling to them, thinking that they can stall for time. But time continues and they can not, until they say goodbye.

Whenever I move from a place, I walk through the house and grounds and say goodbye. I remember the good times and the bad times and the plain times I lived there and existed there. I know a part of me will always be there, but I say goodbye and thank the place for the times we shared. That sounds a little loopy, but it feels right for me. I can then move to a new house and live there and accept it for whatever it is and be open to new good times and bad times and plain times.

I say goodbye to cars I have owned as well. They served me and ran when they were supposed to and contained my garbage as I rode down the road. Sheltered me from the rain and got me where I was supposed to be. Not always on time, but that was my fault. So I say farewell to the cars.

And I say goodbye to people, too. Some think that if you do not say goodbye, people are always a part of your life. I say no to that. I say goodbye. You never know if you will see someone again, and saying goodbye is a way of completing your relationship. A way of saying, "I enjoyed knowing you. You are a part of me and I of you. I will carry our experiences together with me always, but it is time to move on. Good luck to you, and God speed.", or something like that.

Many have compared life to a circle, and circles do not have beginnings or endings, but are continuous so believe goodbyes ruin the circle. I think if life is circular, there is more than one circle, and they are concentric circles. Whenever I draw a circle I have to begin somewhere and I have to close it to complete the circle. So, my goodbyes are the closings and completions of my lifes circles. Only by completing the circle can it be continuous and, well, a circle.

Say goodbye. It's not a bad thing. It helps you keep moving along the path (circular?) of life.

8:56 a.m. - 2003-09-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites