metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New mower at 5 am

Our dogs basically run free during the day. We live in a remote area on a dead end road so there is very little problem with this. We close them in the garage during the night for many reasons, predators and incessant barking being the foremost reasons. Last night, Maggie, the three-legged, tailless beagle, staged a �jailbreak� about 5 am, and began howling and croaking as she circled the house hot on the trail of some poor rabbit or - some poor nocturnal critter. Anyway, there was no going back to bed after that, so K and I had a little extra time together this morning.

K says, �We need a new lawnmower.� He has been tinkering with our old one, getting parts, taking it apart putting it back together, only to have another part break. He really has been trying to fix this one. It has been a good mower, but I guess it has seen better days. Anyway, at 5:15 am he says, �I have this check for my mileage and I could put the rest on the (insert name of a large home improvement store here) card. I groan, �I just paid them off. They charge 22% interest. [sigh]�

K, �They have mowers on sale! They are only $149! I could put this check on it and only have to charge 70-80 bucks!�

I say, �Hmmm. Your check is for $50, so even if you do that, $149 minus $50 is $90.�

K, �Ummmm. OK. Ummm, well they have some for as little as $129. I could get one of those.�

Me, smiling, �Sweetheart. Tell me one time in the 30 years I have known you that you have entered a store and bought the item that was on sale instead of the top of the line most expensive item with all the bells and whistles in the whole world. Tell me one time.�

K, laughing, �Busted! In my own living room! In my very own chair! I can�t believe it.�

I say, �Well, whatever. I guess we need a lawnmower so go for it, just try to be good about it. Try not to buy the most expensive one, k?�

K, �I�ll try. But you gotta admit that I am fun. I am expensive fun, but I�m fun.�

Me, �I could be expensive fun, too. I wanna be expensive fun.�

K, �No, sorry, only one per family.�

Deer have eaten my large water lily. My pond looks like crap. I now have to schlep out there every morning and night and put netting around the other water lily. The poor little frogs get tangled in it so I have to go out in the morning and remove it. The deer are also munching on my little, puny Japanese maple. Damn them.

4:33 p.m. - 2003-05-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites