metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Resolutions

One year, about 20 years ago (my God!) one of my new year�s resolutions was to watch the sunset at the beach every day. I lived one block from the beach, and it was a special place for me, a place to center my energy, to focus and unwind. It�s hard to describe how it made me feel to be there. Like the slate was clean, like I took a deep breath and I was ready to begin anew (something like that). Anyway, this was my rather challenging resolution. A little off-the-wall, perhaps, but it was one that made sense to me at the time. I liked the sound of it. I liked the idea of it. It fit me. I liked to tell people about it and watch their faces. It sounds like a frivolous resolution, not life changing or self improving in any way, but if you think about it, doing ANYTHING EVERY SINGLE DAY OF ONE YEAR would be a challenge.

And so I embarked with zeal upon this resolution. Looking back, I think I had more enthusiasm for this resolution (and more resolve associated with it) than I ever had or have had for any resolution since. I must have REALLY liked this resolution! I went to work, as usual, but every day I headed to the beach for the sunset. Admittedly it was easier during daylight savings time, but I was diligent. One time, I was sitting in traffic on this bridge I had to cross to get home and the sun was setting and I was screaming and gesturing like a wild woman. I HAD to make it to the BEACH!!!!! I drove like a bat out of hell, but I made it to the beach for the sunset, dammit. No ticket, either.

I did not make it to the beach every single day that year. But I gave it hell. I think I may have missed 10 days total due to circumstances beyond my control. It was a satisfying little task I gave myself. And, in retrospect, it was life changing and self-improving in a way. I know I felt good and complete for doing it. Not many have tried it that I know of. I felt a measure of success. All in all, one of the best resolutions I ever made; and one of the few I actually followed through on for the whole year.

I bring this up because I plan to make more resolutions like this one, instead of the old �lose weight, exercise more, read more, write more, grow taller, be organized, etc.� crap I always saddle myself with and then abandon after about 2 months. I know it is early to be thinking of this, but I want to be prepared. I want to truly open my heart to those things that may seem silly to others, but hold a world of satisfaction for me if I would only follow their call.

This entry will remind me, when resolution time rolls around, that I need to look in a different direction for my resolutions. The self-improvement and life changing will take care of itself in the process.

3:40 p.m. - 2003-04-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites