metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some things my father taught me

My relationship with my father has been difficult for me to define. He was a lonely soul, I think, and preferred to be alone unless he was drunk. Then he was obnoxiously gregarious.

What did I learn from my father?

I learned to plumb the depths of my melancholy soul and make friends with my loneliness.

I learned to repair a bicycle tire.

I learned to clean the lint out of the dryer vent.

I learned to hammer a nail and screw a screw.

I learned how to drive a car.

I learned how to change the oil in that car.

I learned how to keep my emotions to myself, only taking them out of my pocket to examine every once in awhile when no one else is looking.

These are all I remember at this moment. Significant lessons learned.

2:25 p.m. - 2006-03-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites