metanoia's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I love you, but I don't remember you

My great nephew, 5 years old, visited from California this weekend. As he was sitting on my lap one evening, he looked up at me and whispered, �I love you. I don�t remember you, but I love you.� I smiled, and began wondering about what he said.

Children come up with the most provocative and crystal clear thoughts.P>

Can people love you if they don�t remember you? Is love something that exists separate and independent of memory? Is love an entity in and of itself, requiring nothing but its own existence?

Yes. Yes. Yes.

He loves me and does not remember me. So the answer to the first question is yes. Perhaps love has its own memory. Love remembers on its own � all by its little self. Whatever the mechanics, I�m glad he loves me and remembering me is not as important to me as the loving part.

4:32 p.m. - 2003-11-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

gomerx
ingridwrites